

THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI HOTELS, LIMITED 香港上海大酒店有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 45)

CLOSURE OF REGISTER OF MEMBERS

On 19 March 2008 the Board of Directors of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (the "Company") recommended a final dividend for 2007 of 12 cents per share subject to the approval by shareholders at the forthcoming annual general meeting. Dividend will be payable on or about 13 June 2008 to shareholders whose names appear on the register of members on 7 May 2008. Shareholders will be given the option to receive their dividend in the form of scrip rather than cash.

The register of members will be closed from 5 May to 7 May 2008, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of shares can be registered. To be entitled to receive the final dividend, shareholders must ensure that all transfer documents accompanied by the relevant share certificates are lodged with the Company's registrars, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited of Rooms 1712–1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong, for registration no later than 4:30 p.m. on Friday, 2 May 2008.

This announcement is also available for viewing on the designated website of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited at www.hkexnews.hk and on the website of the Company at www.hshgroup.com.

By order of the Board
Christobelle Liao
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 19 March 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises the following Directors:

Chairman
The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie

Deputy Chairman Ian Duncan Boyce

Executive Directors

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Clement King Man Kwok

Chief Financial Officer Charles Mark Broadley

Chief Operating Officer
Peter Camille Borer

Non-Executive Directors
Ronald James McAulay
William Elkin Mocatta
Pierre Roger Boppe
John Andrew Harry Leigh
Nicholas Timothy James Colfer

Independent Non-Executive Directors
Dr. The Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li
Robert Chee Siong Ng
Robert Warren Miller
Patrick Blackwell Paul

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard."