Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI HOTELS, LIMITED 香港上海大酒店有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 45)

Poll Results of the 2009 Annual General Meeting

At the Annual General Meeting of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (the "Company") held on 13 May 2009 (the "AGM"), a poll was demanded by the Chairman for voting on all the proposed resolutions as set out in the Notice of AGM dated 9 April 2009.

As at the date of the AGM, the issued share capital of the Company was 1,450,263,502 shares, which was the total number of shares entitling the shareholders to attend and vote for or against all resolutions. There was no restriction on shareholders to cast votes on any of the proposed resolutions at the AGM.

The vote-taking at the AGM was scrutinised by the Company's registrars, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited. All the resolutions were approved by shareholders and poll results were as follows:

		Ordinaw Pagalutians	No. of Votes (%)	
		Ordinary Resolutions	For	Against
(1)	To receive the audited Financial Statements and the		1,176,917,743	0
	Reports of the Directors and independent auditor for the		(100.000000%)	(0.000000%)
	year	ended 31 December 2008.		
(2)	To declare a final dividend.		1,178,296,150	592,313
			(99.949757%)	(0.050243%)
(3)	(a)	To re-elect Mr. Ronald James McAulay as a Director.	1,165,210,196	13,673,341
			(98.840145%)	(1.159855%)
	(b)	To re-elect Dr. The Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li as a	1,166,503,745	12,386,131
		Director.	(98.949339%)	(1.050661%)
	(c)	To re-elect Mr. John Andrew Harry Leigh as a	1,176,622,944	2,260,593
		Director.	(99.808243%)	(0.191757%)
	(d)	To re-elect Mr. Nicholas Timothy James Colfer as a	1,050,578,437	128,308,100
		Director.	(89.116162%)	(10.883838%)
	(e)	To re-elect Mr. Neil John Galloway as a Director.	1,177,617,975	1,271,901
			(99.892110%)	(0.107890%)
(4)	To re-appoint KPMG as auditor of the Company at a fee to		1,177,891,370	957,313
	be a	greed by the Directors.	(99.918793%)	(0.081207%)
(5)			997,840,171	181,004,208
		·	(84.645623%)	(15.354377%)
(6)	To g	grant a general mandate for share repurchase.	1,178,587,513	264,000
	`	<u> </u>	(99.977605%)	(0.022395%)
(7)	7) To add shares repurchased to the general mandate to issue new shares in Resolution No. 5.		997,812,736	181,008,708
			(84.644943%)	(15.355057%)

	Special Resolution	No. of Votes (%)	
	Special Resolution	For	Against
(8)	To amend the Articles of Association of the Company.	1,178,184,077	10,000
		(99.999151%)	(0.000849%)

As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of Resolutions Nos. 1 to 7 and more than 75% of the votes were cast in favour of Resolution No. 8, Resolutions Nos. 1 to 7 were duly passed as Ordinary Resolutions and Resolution No. 8 was duly passed as a Special Resolution.

By order of the Board Christobelle Liao Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 13 May 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises the following Directors:

Non-Executive Chairman The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie

Non-Executive Deputy Chairman	Non-Executive Directors		
Ian Duncan Boyce	Ronald James McAulay		
	William Elkin Mocatta		
Executive Directors	Pierre Roger Boppe		
Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer	John Andrew Harry Leigh		
Clement King Man Kwok	Nicholas Timothy James Colfer		
Chief Financial Officer	Independent Non-Executive Directors		
Neil John Galloway	Dr. The Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li		
	Robert Chee Siong Ng		
Chief Operating Officer	Robert Warren Miller		
Peter Camille Borer	Patrick Blackwell Paul		