Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI HOTELS, LIMITED 香港上海大酒店有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 45)

Closure of Register of Members

On 25 August 2010 the Board of Directors of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (the "Company") declared an interim dividend for the year ending 31 December 2010 of 4 HK cents per share. Dividend will be payable on 5 November 2010 to shareholders whose names appear on the register of members on 29 September 2010. Shareholders will be given the option to receive their dividend in the form of scrip rather than cash.

The register of members will be closed from 27 September 2010 to 29 September 2010, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of shares can be registered. To be entitled to receive the interim dividend, shareholders must ensure that all transfer documents accompanied by the relevant share certificates are lodged with the Company's registrar, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited of Shops 1712-1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong, for registration no later than 4:30 p.m. on Friday, 24 September 2010.

By order of the Board Christobelle Liao Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 25 August 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises the following Directors:

Non-Executive Chairman
The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie

Non-Executive Deputy Chairman Ian Duncan Boyce

Executive Directors

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Clement King Man Kwok

Chief Financial Officer
Neil John Galloway

Chief Operating Officer
Peter Camille Borer

Non-Executive Directors

Ronald James McAulay William Elkin Mocatta John Andrew Harry Leigh Nicholas Timothy James Colfer

Independent Non-Executive Directors

Dr. The Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li Robert Chee Siong Ng Robert Warren Miller Patrick Blackwell Paul Pierre Roger Boppe