Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI HOTELS, LIMITED 香港上海大酒店有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 00045)

Appointment of Executive Director

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr Matthew James Lawson ("Mr Lawson") will be appointed as Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer of the Company. The effective date of the appointment is to be confirmed, but is expected to be no later than 3 May 2016. Mr Lawson will be appointed as a member of the Finance Committee and the Group Management Board, as well as a Director of some of the Group's entities. A further announcement will be made when the effective date is confirmed.

Mr Lawson holds a Bachelor of International Business Relations from Griffith University and a Bachelor of Commerce from The University of Queensland. Mr Lawson has extensive experience with hotel and real estate transactions and investments, including joint venture negotiations and structuring. He began his career with Arthur Andersen Corporate Finance in Sydney in 1998 and subsequently joined Deutsche Bank AG in Sydney in 2001. Mr Lawson joined JP Morgan since 2006, where he held senior positions in Hong Kong and Singapore, most recently as a Managing Director and Head of Real Estate Investment Banking Asia. He is 42 years old.

Mr Lawson has not held any directorships in any listed company in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years. As at the date of this announcement, Mr Lawson does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Future Ordinance nor any relationship with any Directors, members of senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

Mr Lawson is subject to retirement and re-election by the shareholders of the Company at the 2016 Annual General Meeting, or at the next General Meeting if there is one held earlier than the 2016 Annual General Meeting, according to the Articles of Association of the Company.

As an Executive Director of the Company, Mr Lawson will not be entitled to any Director's fees for serving on the Board and Board Committees. Under his service contract, Mr Lawson is entitled to an annual base compensation of HK\$4.4 million together with other benefits. He is also entitled to an annual bonus payment and an additional discretionary bonus depending on performance. He is eligible to join the Company's 1994 Retirement Plan and the Company will contribute a percentage of his basic salary to the retirement fund.

The amount of the emoluments payable to Mr Lawson under his service contract had been reviewed and approved by the Remuneration Committee with reference to market benchmarks, his qualifications and experience.

Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters relating to Mr Lawson's appointment that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company and there is no other information which is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

By order of the Board Christobelle Liao Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 2 February 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises the following Directors:

Non-Executive Chairman
The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie

Non-Executive Deputy Chairman
Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler

Non-Executive Directors
Ronald James McAulay
William Elkin Mocatta
John Andrew Harry Leigh
Nicholas Timothy James Colfer

Executive Directors

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Clement King Man Kwok

Chief Operating Officer
Peter Camille Borer

Independent Non-Executive Directors

Dr the Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li Patrick Blackwell Paul Pierre Roger Boppe Dr William Kwok Lun Fung Dr Rosanna Yick Ming Wong Dr Kim Lesley Winser