Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI HOTELS, LIMITED

香港上海大酒店有限公司 (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 00045)

Resignation of Director

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (the "Company") announces the resignation of Mr Ronald James McAulay as a Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting held on 8 May 2017.

Mr McAulay has been a Non-Executive Director of the Company since 1972. After having served on the Company's Board for over 45 years, Mr McAulay has decided to step down from the Board and retire. In recognition of his past contribution to the Company, the Board has conferred on Mr McAulay the title of Honorary Life President. Following his resignation, he will not have any official responsibilities within the Company.

Mr McAulay has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and is not aware of any matter in relation to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr McAulay for his service to the Board, the Company and its shareholders during his time on the Board.

By order of the Board Christobelle Liao Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 8 May 2017

As at the publication of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises the following Directors:

Non-Executive Chairman The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie

Non-Executive Deputy Chairman Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler

Executive Directors

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Clement King Man Kwok

Chief Operating Officer Peter Camille Borer

Chief Financial Officer Matthew James Lawson

Non-Executive Directors

Ronald James McAulay William Elkin Mocatta John Andrew Harry Leigh Nicholas Timothy James Colfer

Independent Non-Executive Directors

Dr the Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li Patrick Blackwell Paul Pierre Roger Boppe Dr William Kwok Lun Fung Dr Rosanna Yick Ming Wong Dr Kim Lesley Winser