Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI HOTELS, LIMITED 香港上海大酒店有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 00045)

## Announcement made pursuant to Rule 13.51B(2) of the Listing Rules

This announcement is made by The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited (the "Company") pursuant to Rule 13.51B(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

The Company has been notified by Dr the Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li ("Dr Li"), an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company, that, on 17th September 2020, the Securities and Futures Commission ("SFC") issued a press release in connection with its enforcement action taken against The Bank of East Asia, Limited ("BEA") in respect of regulatory breaches related to the manner in which BEA held securities in two external custodian accounts (the "Press Release").

Although Dr Li is the Executive Chairman and Executive Director of BEA at the time of the publication of the Press Release, he has confirmed to the Company that he was not the subject of the SFC's enforcement action which, according to the Press Release, only concerns BEA, nor did he have any involvement in the regulatory breaches to which the enforcement action relates.

By order of the Board Christobelle Liao Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 22 September 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises the following Directors:

## Non-Executive Chairman The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie

Non-Executive Deputy Chairman

Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler

William Elkin Mocatta

John Andrew Harry Leigh

Nicholas Timothy James Colfer

Executive DirectorsJames Lindsay LewisManaging Director and Chief Executive OfficerPhilip Lawrence Kadoorie

Clement King Man Kwok

 ${\bf Independent\ Non-Executive\ Directors}$ 

Dr the Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li

Chief Operating OfficerPatrick Blackwell PaulPeter Camille BorerPierre Roger Boppe

Dr William Kwok Lun Fung Dr Rosanna Yick Ming Wong

Chief Financial OfficerDr Kim Lesley WinserMatthew James LawsonAda Koon Hang Tse