Dr the Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li

​Independent Non-Executive Director

Age: 84 Appointed: October 1987

Key strengths and experience

Sir David is a prominent Hong Kong banker, having held senior executive level positions at various preeminent Hong Kong and overseas companies. Sir David’s rich and varied experience enables him to bring a unique viewpoint to the Board. His expertise in multiple sectors provides a diverse skillset covering the entire spectrum of the group’s business.

Titles, qualifications and education

GBM, GBS, OBE, JP, MA Cantab. (Economics& Law), Hon. LLD (Cantab), Hon. DSc. (Imperial),Hon. LLD (Warwick), Hon. DBA (EdinburghNapier), Hon. D.Hum. Litt. (Trinity, USA), Hon. LLD(Hong Kong), Hon. DSocSc (Lingnan), Hon. DLitt(Macquarie), Hon. DSocSc (CUHK), FCA, FCPA,FCPA (Aust.), FCIB, FHKIB, FBCS, CITP, Officierde l’Ordre de la Couronne, Grand Officer of theOrder of the Star of Italian Solidarity, The Orderof the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon,Commandeur dans l’Ordre National de la Légion d’Honneur, Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Finance

Other major offices

The Bank of East Asia, Limited# (Executive Chairman and Member of Nomination Committee)
The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited# (Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairman of Board Audit and Risk Committee and Remuneration Committee and Member of Nomination Committee)
San Miguel Brewery Hong Kong Limited# (Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairman of Audit Committee and Member of Nomination Committee and Remuneration Committee)
Vitasoy International Holdings Limited# (Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairman of Remuneration and Nomination Committee and Member of Audit Committee)
Guangdong Investment Limited# (Independent Non-Executive Director) (until March 2021)
The Friends of Cambridge University in Hong Kong Limited (Founding Chairman)
The Salvation Army, Hong Kong and Macau Command (Advisory Board Chairman)
St. James’ Settlement (Executive Committee Chairman)
Council of the Treasury Markets Association (Member)

Nomination Committee member

More Profiles

​Nicholas Timothy James Colfer

​Non-Executive Director

​Ronald James McAulay

Honorary Life President

​Pierre Roger Boppe

Independent Non-Executive Director

​John Andrew Harry Leigh

​Non-Executive Director